Summer Cleaning: The Closet

“I am still determined to be cheerful and happy, in whatever situation I may be; for I have also learned from experience that the greater part of our happiness or misery depends upon our dispositions, and not upon our circumstances.”
– Martha Washington

We can’t blame anybody for the hand we were dealt, the situations we are given, or the actions and reactions of other people. We control our own reactions and perceptions of the world. We decide how we handle things and choose to let them affect us. Nobody can ruin your day unless you let them. Ultimately, we are in charge of my own happiness.

I’ve started my own “happiness project” where I’m consciously making an effort to change situations I am put in and my current dispositions to something positive with happiness as my end goal. A person that radiates positivity attracts all that is positive. If you harness negative thoughts and exude negative energy, you build on a negative lifestyle and welcome nothing but more negativity.

With the theme of happiness and positivity in mind, I’ve decided to do some “Spring Cleaning”. First starting off with my closet.

A few times a year I’ll go into my closet and remove pieces that I would no longer wear or have not worn in over 6 months. Removing the clutter is definitely therapeutic, and creates a much more tranquil enviornment to come back to. Just knowing that there is some order to your life helps relieve the stress that may surround you.

1. Start Tossing
(set aside a pile to donate)

2. Organize
(by color/style/category)

3. Create more Space
(shelves, drawers, fold, hang, storage units)

Leave a Reply

