Blackberry Jam

Blackberry season is summer to late-summer so I’m wondering why they are still being sold so abundantly and at such a good price! Maybe early winter is the very end of the season and they’re trying to get rid of their last batch of berries before they go bad? Well whatever the reason is, they were going for $.99 a box and I so I picked up 24 boxes at the local store and made jam as gifts!

Below is a recipe I tweaked and put together with the help of allrecipes.com.

Blackberry Jam

4 cups of blackberries
1T lemon juice
3/4 cup organic cane sugar (my berries were already sweet so this was a good amount)
1 pack of pectin
1 tsp cinnamon

Mash the berries up and bring it to a boil. Add the sugar, pectin, and cinnamon to the mixture as it simmers.
Remove from heat and put into your jars.
I wanted to take a shortcut and tried setting my jars upside down so that they would naturally “can” themselves but I don’t think my jam was hot enough. I ended up submerging my jars into boiling water for a good 5 minutes before taking them out to cool. Once it sets to room temperature, leave the jars in the fridge over night.
Voilà! Jam for your morning toast tomorrow!

Blackberry JamJam spread

3 responses to “Blackberry Jam

  1. Back ‘atcha Karen! Love your blog… and jam…mmmmmmm. See you soon… would love to go to yoga w. you after/during work one day soon! xx

Leave a comment